Quitting Sugar // The Experiment Begins

Veggie Prep

Tomorrow my significant other and I are starting an 8 week sugar detox and to be honest we are not looking forward to it. BUT it needs to happen. My boyfriend is a gnarly sugar addict (like eats a quart of a Trader Joe’s Vanilla Ice Cream almost every night kind of addict). I don’t blame him, he is sober and as he points out, this is the only vice he has (besides compulsive surfboard and motorcycle collecting).

However, the poor guy has a really bad case of psoriasis, degenerative disc disease, is always tired and feels foggy. I am convinced it has to do with his diet. My diet isn’t perfect either, but thankfully I don’t have those symptoms. I just want him to feel better because it isn’t normal to feel that bad all the time. So, once he told me he was willing to try to quit sugar I jumped on it and am committing to do it as well.

What this means is that I have committed to making all our meals and snacks for the next 8 weeks (please shoot me). Because when I sign on to something I tend to go all in; not necessarily a good thing. I basically decided that we should give up all processed food while we’re at it. And I eat a plant based diet 95% of the time (fish once in a while), so this little experiment is going to be a little gnarly.


imageSo today after a 3 hour motorcycle ride in 90 degree weather (I just upgraded my brake so I had to test it out on some twisty back roads!) I meal prepped for the week. It ended up taking me six and a half hours, I was not expecting that. But, I made some really delicious meals and I know I will be happy I got it done later in the week. I know that when I get tired and hungry I do not want to cook. I commute two hours a day, so the last thing I want to do is spend another hour or two making dinner.

imageBrake Fluid Reservoir

I am a huge procrastinator so this is really going to be a test for me. But I have the best motivation ever in trying to help the person that I love so it’s totally worth it. We went grocery shopping Saturday and I made home made granola bars and crackers Saturday night (we really know how to party). And then today was a marathon in the kitchen. I can honestly say I have never cooked so many things in one day – it is exhausting. I’m just hoping I will get faster the more I do it!

Here is a list of what I made over the last two days:

Savory Crackers: Rosemary & Garlic // Fig & Pepper

Tropical Granola Bars

Blueberry Almond Coconut Overnight Oats

Black Bean Sweet Potato Enchiladas with Cilantro Hummus (made a double batch so I could freeze one)

Thai Peanut Soba Noodle Bowl Prep

Clean Green Bean Casserole

Cut up a bunch of parsnips, bell peppers, cucumbers, spinach, green onions to use later in the week

Black Fig & Pepper Crackers

Black Fig & Pepper Crackers

Tropical Granola Bars

Tropical Granola Bars

Thai Peanut Soba Noodle Bowl Prep

Thai Peanut Soba Noodle Bowl Prep

Clean Green Bean Casserole

Clean Green Bean Casserole

2 thoughts on “Quitting Sugar // The Experiment Begins

Leave a comment